The CHANI Project Conspiracy Forum
Sign in to follow this  
MungamineBoy

A Call to Arms for small regional communities

G'day

I am trying to stir a bit of action with local community groups with a call to arms...

Beggars on the edge of the Virtual Highway.

The rapid world wide growth of the Internet has been the catalyst for the Fourth Industrial Revolution which is now starting.

The business environment as we know it will change dramatically offering many new challenges and opportunities. The Macquarie Valley is not well placed to prosper in this exciting future.

As a service technician I regularly travel throughout the Orana Region. There are many towns that are a step back in time socially and commercially. I am seen by many as an expert and am often asked as to how to get on the Internet and make some money out of it. I have some little known local success stories to whet their appetite, and then explain what it is going to take to get there. The problem is that some of the tasks are beyond the local skillset.

Those wishing to make their first steps have to look out side their local area and so are liable to be exploited by opportunistic marketing companies. I have several examples of that happening.

I believe that there needs to be a business model developed for small regional communities where the youth are given incentive to learn the new skills, and then employment opportunities offering those skills to local businesses. This would be a win-win situation for the sustainability of the communities. When web pages can be easily built by the community, opportunities and ideas can become realities.

There are good people in the region who have the knowledge, however there is currently no program in place to help them impart to others.