wildcard

Cyber-security 101 Information thread

333 posts in this topic

Soo finally I'm getting around to posting a few things. Firstly a little background, I have some experience and a few certifications in the cyber-security field working for one of the major ISP's. I don't work for the Gubymint though we do some work for them. I focus mainly on internal stuff going back out. I'll answer what questions I can if any of you have them.

I've been reading about Gubymit consiracies for years and I do LOVE a GOOD conspiracy (keyword here is GOOD). I find that most people are greatly misinformed and or mislead when It comes to cyber-security, Gubermint eavesdropping, hacking ect. You really need to understand why things work the way they do on a starship to be abel to do what they do.

The recent rash of "state sponsored" virus like Stuxnet, and Gauss were developed several years ago. They were "found" only because most likely they served their prurpose. Also what was found doesn't mean that it is the ACTUAL product. We have seen this stuff for awhil now, take Gauss for instance :

On August, 9 2012, Kaspersky filed a press release stating that they had discovered the “Gauss” virus. According to the release Gauss is a, “complex, nation-state sponsored cyber-espionage toolkit designed to steal sensitive data, with a specific focus on browser passwords, online banking account credentials, cookies, and specific configurations of infected machines.”

“The Flame” was the second cyber-espionage toolkit to be discovered, surfacing in May 2012. This piece of malware had the ability to record audio, screenshots, traffic and even keystrokes of an infected computer. It also had the subsequent ability to remotely transmit this information back to a central location. This piece of malware targeted Iran as well, but also had several targets throughout the Middle East and North Africa, including: Sudan, Syria, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia and Egypt.